Cactus quartz as a stone that promotes peace and harmony in communal and group settings. It is a form of amethyst that is also known as spirit quartz that is found in Magaliesberg, Groblersdaal, RSA (Republic of South Africa).
Crystal clusters are perfect to have in shared areas, like living rooms and offices. They can also be used in your meditation space or placed on your altar.

A fun thing to do is to build a mini grid on top of a cluster for a specific intention or place other crystals or jewelry on them to cleanse and charge them.


Sparkling cactus quartz is covered in small quartz points called druse. The drusy crystals radiate the energy of soothing amethyst out in all directions of any space that it graces.


Amethyst is the purple ray of the quartz family that gets its purple coloring from manganese and iron inclusions. You will also see cactus quartz with some citrine or reddish tinged coloring due to inclusions.


The color purple has the highest vibrational rate and amethyst crystals also have a high vibrational rate that connects you to the spiritual realms, purifies your aura and clears your energy field of any unwanted lower energies.


Amethyst resonates with the Third Eye, Crown and Etheric Chakras and is known a “Stone of Spirituality.”


The ancients called amethyst a “Gem of Fire,” and it was valued at times throughout history as much as diamonds. February is the month that the Romans dedicated to Neptune, their water-god and amethyst is the traditional birthstone of this month. It is also known as the stone of St. Valentine and faithful love and signifies ecumenical dignity as the Bishop’s Stone.


The name Amethyst is derived from the Greek word ametusthos, meaning “not intoxicated,” hence its association with remaining sober and abstaining from alcohol.


Amethyst was the ninth stone in the breastplate of the High Priest, to the Hebrews, it was Ahlamah engraved with the tribe of Dan, as well as the twelfth foundation stone for the New Jerusalem. To the Egyptians, it was Hemag, listed in the Book of the Dead and was carved into heart-shaped amulets for burial rituals. In Eastern cultures, it was listed in descriptions of sacred “gem-cities,” “trees of life,” and used in temple offerings for worship. Also believed by the ancients to align planetary and astrological influences.


Crystal System: trigonal
Mohs hardness: 7
Chakra association: 3rd eye and crown chakras
Element: air or wind


Tid Bit…the major varieties of Quartz are: Aventurine, Agate, Amethyst, Carnelian, Chalcedony, Citrine, Jasper, Milky Quartz, Onyx, Rock Crystal=clear quartz, Prasiolite , Rose Quartz, Rutilated Quartz, Smokey Quartz and Tiger’s Eye.


With love,

Leave a Reply